For many workers across the country, working for minimum wage only allows them to scrape by when it comes to purchasing everyday necessities. In some situations, workers may be even more negatively affected if employers do not properly compensate them for their hours worked. Wage and hour law specifications are put in place to help ensure that workers are able to earn their pay and not suffer unnecessarily due to unpaid wages.
With the start of the New Year, changes to the state minimum wage came to Florida. It was reported that many states across the country had implemented an increase to their minimum wage standards. Florida's wage increased from $7.93 an hour to $8.05 an hour for individuals who do not work for tips. If a party does receive tips while on the job, his or her hourly wage has been increased to $5.03.
This year marks the fourth time that the state has decided to increase its hourly minimum wage. Though several states did make the change to increase minimum wage, the federal minimum wage remains at $7.25. One worker expressed concern that an increase in minimum wage could potentially lead to inflation, but he also believes that workers should be able to earn the money for which they work.
Because the state wage and hour law standards have recently changed, it is important for workers to be aware of the issue. If Florida minimum-wage workers find that their employers do not increase their pay according to the changes, those employers could potentially be violating the law. If the situation is not rectified, workers could possibly have reason to file a legal claim concerning those violations in order to seek proper compensation.
Source: wjhg.com, "Florida Minimum Wage Increases", Jan. 5, 2015